Fritz Gerber Award

The Fritz Gerber Award supports young Swiss musicians in the field of contemporary classical music.

Established in 2015 by the Fritz Gerber Foundation and Lucerne Festival, the Fritz Gerber Award annually supports three young musicians in the field of contemporary classical music. Each award winner receives a cash prize of CHF 10,000 and a scholarship to participate in the Lucerne Festival Academy, which is worth CHF 10,000. The candidates must have Swiss citizenship or have lived in Switzerland for a minimum of three years. The applications are sent to the Lucerne Festival Academy. The selection committee consists of Michael Haefliger, the Executive and Artistic Director of Lucerne Festival, the composer and conductor Heinz Holliger, and instrumental coaches from the Lucerne Festival Academy.

Fritz Gerber Foundation

The Fritz Gerber Foundation has been active since 1999. The Foundation supports talented young people who have permanent residency in Switzerland. It promotes the areas of education (including advanced college training), crafts, culture, and athletics. This support is provided in the form of financial contributions to education, advanced training, and continuing education and is intended to make a difference where public funds are not available to achieve the Foundation’s goals. Since 1999 the Fritz Gerber Foundation has supported some 2,250 talented young people by granting a total of more than CHF 26 million.

Winners for 2021

Daniela Braun Clarinet | Luis Homedes López Saxophone | Anastasiia Subrakova Violin

Winners for 2020

Helga Karen piano | Thomas Hong Yiu Lai double bass | Aurélien Gignoux percussion

Winners for 2019

Martina Kalt viola | Francisco Olmedo Molina trombone | Marta Sánchez Paz oboe

Winners for 2018

Alexandre Guy violin | Thomas Soldati percussion | Sara Zazo saxophone

Winners for 2017

Alice Belugou harp | Hana Hobiger viola | Rahel Kohler saxophone

Winners for 2016

Agata Nowak violin | Miguel Ángel Pérez Domingo bassoon | 
Alexandre Mastrangelo trombone

Winners for 2015

Mariella Bachmann clarinet | David Sypniewski violin | Rafal Zolkos flute