The Academy

The Lucerne Festival Academy is a school for new music and a laboratory for the future. Every summer, some 100 talented young musicians from all over the world are given the opportunity to concentrate on a repertoire that is still too much overlooked in the classical music business: the music of the 20th and 21st centuries.

A PORTRAIT

Wolfgang Rihm

Artistic Director

More

Pierre Boulez

Founder and Honorary President †

More

The Orchestra

The heart of the Lucerne Festival Academy is the orchestra. This is where all of the participants in a given year unite to spend three weeks rehearsing central works of the 20th and 21st centuries – from modern classics to many world premieres. They meet with renowned conductors, soloists, and composers. In recent years, these have included such figures as Sir George Benjamin, Peter Eötvös, Isabelle Faust, Alan Gilbert, Heinz Holliger, Anne-Sophie Mutter, and Sir Simon Rattle.

Coaches

Every summer, we invite leading performers of contemporary music to serve as instrumental coaches. These include members of the Ensemble intercontemporain, Ensemble Modern, Klangforum Wien, and Ensemble Musikfabrik. They are involved throughout the three-week work phase, from the Academy Orchestra’s section rehearsals to rehearsals of programs for small ensembles, passing their knowledge and experience on to the younger generation.

More
Daniela Braun | Luis Homedes López | Anastasiia Subrakova

Fritz Gerber Award

Through the Fritz Gerber Award, the Fritz Gerber Foundation and Lucerne Festival have been encouraging three young instrumentalists in the field of contemporary classical music every year since 2015. The Award includes a cash prize of CHF 10,000 and a scholarship that covers participation in the Lucerne Festival Academy.

more

Adecco Career Sessions

The Lucerne Festival Academy is dedicated to the comprehensive education of the young generation of musicians – going beyond their purely instrumental skills. Together with the Adecco Group Foundation, we therefore offer Career Sessions – a program that supports Academy students in their professional careers through personal counseling and workshops. 

More
Adecco Career Sessions © Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival
Comper Seminar © Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival

Conducting Fellowship

The Conducting Fellowship supports young conductors. The fellows attend and observe during rehearsals at the Academy, have an opportunity to discuss performance practice and interpretative questions with leading conductors, and study key works of the 20th and 21st centuries in a public master class.

more

Composer Seminar

Every summer, Academy Director Wolfgang Rihm conducts together with co-teacher Dieter Ammann a two-week Composer Seminar. During the first week, participants discuss their works with Rihm, Ammann and other guests in plenary sessions and in one-on-one discussions. They then go on to study and rehearse their scores with participants of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY and present them in moderated closing concerts.

more
Composer Seminar © Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival
Rebecca Saunders © Astrid Ackermann

Roche Commissions

Through the Roche Commissions, a pioneering partnership established in 2003 between Roche, Lucerne Festival, and the Lucerne Festival Academy, Roche awards biennial commissions to outstanding contemporary composers whose new scores are given their premieres at the Summer Festival by the Orchestra of the Lucerne Festival Academy. The prizewinner for 2020 is Rebecca Saunders of the United Kingdom, whose work will be showcased in the summer of 2021 (following a delay caused by the coronavirus pandemic).

more

Roche Young Commissions

Since 2013, in alternation with the Roche Commissions, new commissions known as the Roche Young Commissions have been awarded every two years to two young composers. The prizewinners work on their new orchestral works in an intensive exchange with two young conductors and with Academy Director Wolfgang Rihm. At the midpoint of the process, they have an opportunity to experience a practice run with the Orchestra of the Lucerne Festival Academy.

more
© Nik Hunger

Die Akademie

Meisterschule für Neue Musik und Zukunftslaboratorium – das ist die Lucerne Festival Academy. Sommer für Sommer erhalten rund 100 junge Musiktalente aus der ganzen Welt die Möglichkeit, sich einem Repertoire zu widmen, das im Klassikbetrieb noch immer zu kurz kommt: der Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.

WEITERLESEN

Wolfgang Rihm

Künstlerischer Leiter

Mehr lesen

Pierre Boulez

Gründer und Ehrenpräsident †

Mehr lesen

Das Orchester

Das Herzstück der Lucerne Festival Academy ist das Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO): In ihm vereinigen sich alle Teilnehmer eines Jahrgangs und studieren drei Wochen lang zentrale Werke des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts ein – von den Klassikern der Moderne bis zu zahlreichen Uraufführungen. Dabei treffen sie auf renommierte Dirigenten, Solisten und Komponisten, in den vergangenen Jahren etwa auf Sir George Benjamin, Peter Eötvös, Isabelle Faust, Alan Gilbert, Heinz Holliger, Anne-Sophie Mutter oder Sir Simon Rattle.

Coaches

Als Instrumentalcoaches laden wir jeden Sommer führende Interpreten der zeitgenössischen Musik ein, darunter Mitglieder des Ensemble intercontemporain, des Ensemble Modern, des Klangforum Wien oder des Ensemble Musikfabrik. Sie begleiten die dreiwöchige Arbeitsphase, von den Registerproben des Academy-Orchesters bis zur Einstudierung von Programmen in kleiner Besetzung, und geben ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrungen an die junge Generation weiter.

Mehr lesen
Daniela Braun | Luis Homedes López | Anastasiia Subrakova

Fritz-Gerber-Award

Mit dem «Fritz-Gerber-Award» fördern die Fritz-Gerber-Stiftung und Lucerne Festival seit 2015 jährlich drei junge Instrumentalisten im Bereich der zeitgenössischen klassischen Musik – mit einem Preisgeld von CHF 10.000 und einem Stipendium für die Teilnahme an der Lucerne Festival Academy.

Mehr lesen

Adecco Career Sessions

Der Lucerne Festival Academy geht es um eine umfassende Ausbildung der jungen Musikergeneration – auch über die rein instrumentalen Fähigkeiten hinaus. Gemeinsam mit der Adecco Group Foundation bieten wir deshalb «Career Sessions» an: Durch persönliche Beratung und mit Workshops werden die Akademisten in ihrer beruflichen Laufbahn unterstützt. 

Mehr lesen
Adecco Career Sessions © Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival
Comper Seminar © Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival

Conducting Fellowship

Das «Conducting Fellowship» fördert junge Dirigenten: Die Stipendiaten begleiten die Probenarbeit der Academy, können mit bedeutenden Dirigenten aufführungspraktische und interpretatorische Fragen diskutieren und studieren in einem öffentlichen Meisterkurs Schlüsselwerke des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts ein.

Mehr lesen

Composer Seminar

Allsommerlich führt Academy-Leiter Wolfgang Rihm zusammen mit Co-Dozent Dieter Ammann ein zweiwöchiges «Composer Seminar» durch: In der ersten Woche diskutieren die Teilnehmenden ihre Werke mit Rihm, Ammann und weiteren Gästen – im Plenum und in Einzelgesprächen. Anschliessend studieren sie die Partituren mit ausgewählten Akademisten ein und stellen sie in moderierten Abschlusskonzerten vor.

Mehr lesen
Composer Seminar © Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival
Rebecca Saunders © Astrid Ackermann

Roche Commissions

Im Rahmen der 2003 begründeten «Roche Commissions», einer wegweisenden Partnerschaft zwischen Roche, Lucerne Festival und der Lucerne Festival Academy, vergibt Roche alle zwei Jahre Werkaufträge an herausragende zeitgenössische Komponisten, deren neue Partituren beim Sommer-Festival vom Orchester der Lucerne Festival Academy uraufgeführt werden. Aktuelle Preisträgerin ist die Britin Rebecca Saunders.

Mehr lesen

Roche Young Commissions

Alternierend mit den «Roche Commissions» ergehen seit 2013 alle zwei Jahre Werkaufträge an je zwei Nachwuchskomponisten: die «Roche Young Commissions». Die Preisträger erarbeiten ihre neuen Orchesterwerke im intensiven Austausch mit zwei jungen Dirigenten sowie mit Academy-Leiter Wolfgang Rihm und können sie zur Halbzeit einem Praxistest mit dem Orchester der Lucerne Festival Academy unterziehen.

Mehr lesen
© Nik Hunger