Connected

We can stay in touch online even between each festival.  "Connected" is our platform of digital offerings that are available throughout the entire year, including livestreams, artist interviews, and background reports. This is where you have an opportunity to become better acquainted with important musicians, ask us questions about music, and further enhance your concert experience. Have a look and enjoy!

"The Classical ABC"

Our brand-new web series is aimed at (german-speaking) children, young people and the young at heart, aged eight years and up.
In short episodes, we introduce you to a single term from the field of classical music.

More

"Michael & Friends"

Let's talk about music -- and much more: Festival Executive and Artistic Director Michael Haefliger meets up with stars from the classical music scene like Yuja Wang, Igor Levit, and Yannick Nézet-Séguin in the digital series "Michael & Friends." Enjoy personal conversations with fascinating artists!

More

"Deep Listening: New Music"

In short videos, leading composers and interpreters demonstrate the tonal, harmonic, melodic, and rhythmic facets and traditions of so-called new music. Thanks to their practical explanations and personal insights, we can "tune" our ears to the adventure of listening to contemporary music and gain a new understanding of music itself. And so: listen carefully!

More

Concert Broadcasts

Many Lucerne Festival concerts are broadcast live online, on television or radio or streamed at a later date. Here is a list of current broadcasts.

more

"That's Crazy!"

Our theme for the Summer of 2021 was "crazy." Here are short video interviews where we asked selected artists to discuss what's crazy about the works and programs they performed in Lucerne.

More

Masterpieces@home

In the “masterpieces@home” series, we present gripping live recordings from our festival archive. Lean back and enjoy the concert videos for free on your sofa, supplemented by short introductions to the works that are being played.

More

“Lucerne, City of Music”

Lucerne and music simply go together. Enjoy members of the Lucerne Festival Orchestra getting together at various spots in the city and playing music by Mozart and Dvořák in smaller chamber music versions in Summer 2020.

more

“Pizz 'n Bits”

Even though they’ve been sequestered in different locations, they sing, dance, and make music together, for they don't want to be alone (and they have been getting a little bored on top of that). Watch and listen as cellist Federica Vecchio (alias Madame Swarowski) and violinist Eleonora Savini (alias Puña) meet digitally. They will carry on with their family concert “Pizz’n’Zip,” which they presented in summer 2019 at Lucerne Festival. A series for our young (and young-at-heart) audience – who can participate in the fun themselves!

more
© Manuela Jans/Lucerne Festival
© Priska Ketterer/LUCERNE FESTIVAL

“That Is the Question”

Anyone who goes to a concert or who simply listens to music knows that questions come up which the program book and the usual scholarly sources don’t cover. If you've ever wondered why the horn sometimes emits squeaking sounds, why conductors almost never appear on the podium the most formal attire, or whether critics are supposed to applaud (or not) after a performance, just ask us! We will find the answer by posing it to an expert.

more

“We Are Lucerne Festival”

Even with all the digital options that have been springing up, the past few months have reminded us that there is no substitute for the live musical experience. We asked musicians, long-time Festival goers, and friends of the Festival about their own most remarkable moments at Lucerne Festival. A performance does not simply end when the applause fades away. It reverberates afterward – even for years, as we call to mind our most unforgettable highlights. You, too, are invited to participate. We would be delighted for you to share your own loveliest experience(s) at the Festival.

more
Ursula Jones

Connected

Bleiben wir in Verbindung – auch zwischen den Festivals! Livestreams, Künstlergespräche und Hintergrundberichte erwarten Sie bei «Connected», unserem ganzjährigen digitalen Festival-Angebot. Sie lernen bedeutende Musiker näher kennen, können uns Fragen rund um die Musik stellen oder Ihr Konzerterlebnis vertiefen. Schauen Sie rein und machen Sie mit!

Übertragungen

Zahlreiche Konzerte von Lucerne Festival werden live online, im Fernsehen oder Radio übertragen oder zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt ausgestrahlt. Hier haben wir Ihnen die aktuellen Sendungen zusammengestellt.

Mehr lesen

«Michael & Friends»

Sprechen wir über Musik – und vieles mehr: Festivalintendant Michael Haefliger trifft in der digitalen Talkreihe «Michael & Friends» auf Stars der Musikszene wie Yuja Wang, Igor Levit oder Yannick Nézet-Séguin. Freuen Sie sich auf persönliche Gespräche mit faszinierenden Künstlern!

Mehr lesen

«Hingehört: Neue Musik»

Wichtige Komponist*innen und Interpret*innen demonstrieren in kurzen Videos klangliche, harmonische, melodische und rhythmische Facetten und Traditionen der sogenannten Neuen Musik. Dank ihrer praxisnahen Ausführungen und persönlichen Einsichten können wir unsere Ohren auf die Hörabenteuer des zeitgenössischen Musikschaffens «einstellen» und gewinnen ein neues Musikverständnis. Deshalb: gut hingehört!

Mehr lesen

Meisterwerke@home

In der Reihe «Meisterwerke@home» präsentieren wir Ihnen packende Live-Mitschnitte aus unserem Festival-Archiv. Lehnen Sie sich zurück und geniessen Sie die Konzertvideos kostenfrei auf Ihrem Sofa, ergänzt um kurze Einführungen zu den erklingenden Werken.

Mehr lesen

«Das ist ja verrückt!»

«Verrückt» lautete unser Sommer-Motto 2021. In kurzen Video-Interviews haben wir ausgewählte Künstler*innen gefragt, was verrückt ist an den Werken und Programmen, die sie in Luzern präsentierten.

Mehr lesen

«Klingendes Luzern»

Luzern und die Musik – das gehört zusammen! Mitglieder des Lucerne Festival Orchestra trafen sich im Sommer 2020 an verschiedenen Orten der Stadt und spielen in kleiner Besetzung Kammermusik von Mozart und Dvořák.

Mehr lesen
Savini Vecchio © Manuela Jans/LucerneFestiv

«Pizz 'n Bits»

Sie weilen an unterschiedlichen Orten, und doch singen, tanzen und musizieren sie miteinander: Weil sie nicht allein sein wollen (und weil sie sich ein wenig langweilen), treffen sich die Cellistin Federica Vecchio (alias Mme Swarowski) und die Geigerin Eleonora Savini (alias Puña) eben digital. Und setzen so ihr Familienkonzert «Pizz’n’Zip» fort, das sie im Sommer 2019 bei Lucerne Festival präsentiert haben. Eine Reihe für unser junges (und jung gebliebenes) Publikum, das auch selbst mitmachen kann!

Mehr lesen

«Wir sind Lucerne Festival»

Die vergangenen Monate haben – trotz aller digitaler Alternativen – gezeigt: Das musikalische Live-Erlebnis lässt sich nicht ersetzen. Wir haben Musikerinnen und Musiker, langjährige Festival-Besucher und Freunde nach ihren schönsten Momenten bei Lucerne Festival befragt. Denn ein Konzert endet nicht mit dem Schlussapplaus, sondern hallt nach – im besten Fall jahrelang. Und auch Sie können mitmachen: Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn Sie uns von Ihrem persönlichen Festival-Highlight erzählen.

Mehr lesen
Ursula Jones
© Priska Ketterer/LUCERNE FESTIVAL

«… das ist hier die Frage»

Wer ein Konzert besucht oder Musik hört, der stösst auch auf Fragen, die weder das Programmheft noch die Fachliteratur beantworten. Wenn Sie schon immer einmal wissen wollten, warum eigentlich ein Horn kiekst, warum Dirigentinnen auf dem Podium fast nie im Abendkleid erscheinen oder ob Kritiker nach dem Konzert denn auch applaudieren dürfen, dann fragen Sie uns einfach! Wir finden die Lösung, indem wir eine Expertin oder einen Experten um kompetente Antwort bitten.

Mehr lesen